South Dakota could be on the verge of repealing a state law that has been in effect since the 1930's.

If passed, soon South Dakotans will have the ability to have alcohol delivered right to their doorstep.

On Thursday (February 16) the South Dakota State Senate paved the way for stores licensed to sell alcohol to make deliveries on orders of $150 or more within their communities. But, be advised, it won't be as easy as calling up your favorite liquor store and asking them to send over a twelve pack of your favorite hooch, stat!

As the Watertown Public Opinion reports, there are a few stipulations.

First, purchases would need to be made by the buyers in person in stores. Stores would be required to obtain a new off-sale transfer license.

Then it comes to the matter of the deliveries themselves. The individuals doing the deliveries would need to be at least 21 years of age. The same thing applies to the the person receiving the alcohol delivery, they too must be at least 21, would need to display a valid age-bearing photo identification document issued by this state, another state, or the federal government verifying their age, and they would also be required to sign when accepting the delivery.

Under the newly proposed law, should alcohol ever be delivered to an individual under the age of 21, the licensee who delivers the alcohol would be subject to a fine of $1,000 on the first offense and $2,000 for a second or subsequent offense.

Supporters of South Dakota Senate Bill 143 believe it gives businesses more chances to compete in the marketplace.

The legislation is now off to the House of Representatives next.

Source: Watertown Public Opinion


See Also: